A Visit to Bob Reeves Brass: By Trumpeter Bill Bagnall

Bob Reeves working with Bill Bagnall

Bob Reeves working with Bill Bagnall

“My family’’s summer RV excursion took us to fabulous locations in the Western United States. We visited National Parks such as: Arches, Canyonlands, Bryce, Hell’s Canyon, The Grand Canyon, Yellowstone, and more. It made sense then, to complete this tour with a memorable visit to the famous Bob Reeve shop.

I had sent my horn in a couple of weeks prior to our departure for a patented valve alignment. I also had high hopes of leaving California with an arsenal of mouthpieces. You know…souvenirs. The last stop of our trip was an appointment with Bob Reeves. When I arrived, my horn was ready and Bob greeted me with a smile.

His hospitality was evident in so many ways. He spent time with me and insisted that I play my “new” horn in his studio. He explained the process he used to align my valves and basically told me that I now had a horn that would play.

He spent a considerable amount of time with me, which I really wasn’t expecting. He listened to me play, and was able to provide me with valuable feedback. He was able to hear colors in my tone and assisted me in comparing a few mouthpieces.

Bill Bagnall & Bob Reeves

Bill Bagnall & Bob Reeves, Summer ’09

I first learned about Bob Reeves Mouthpieces while studying trumpet with the late Roy Cummings at the University of Washington. While I’m not a professional trumpet player, I certainly benefited from Bob’s craftsmanship and instruction. My valve alignment and mouthpieces have made noticeable improvements in my playing. I will always recall with fondness my master class with the master, Bob Reeves.”

Bill Bagnall
Bothell, Washington

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

3 Responses to “A Visit to Bob Reeves Brass: By Trumpeter Bill Bagnall”

  1. David Cooper Says:

    Very well written and was not surprised at the time he spent with you. Bob is a wonderful person and will do anything to help someone with their equipment or needs.He is not their just for a sale as his first commitment is to help the player.I wish and hope to be able to visit the shop someday but we talked over the phone at length several times since the seventies…………great post….david

    I will try to send my pic out today for the alignment !!1

  2. Hi David,

    Thanks for posting your kind words online! I’ll keep an eye out for your pic. and would love to have you visit the shop some day. Too bad you’re not out here now, the wind has (temporarily) blown all the smog out of L.A.!

  3. David Cooper Says:

    I SENT THE PIC OFF TODAY !

Leave a Reply

