Mouthpiece Comparison Tool

For those of you who haven’t discovered it yet, our Mouthpiece Advisor has been an invaluable tool for trumpet players switching over to the Bob Reeves’ mouthpiece line.

We have hundreds of mouthpiece makes and models in our database, from the complete Vincent Bach mouthpiece line, to Schilke, Monette, and GR mouthpieces.

Here is a partial list of the mouthpiece makers we have listed:

  • Bach
  • Bob Reeves
  • GR
  • Greg Black
  • Kanstul
  • Laskey
  • Marcinkiewicz
  • Monette
  • Purviance
  • Schilke
  • Stork
  • Warburton
  • Yamaha

If you can’t find your particular make and model, look for a comparable model from another manufacturer to see if that is listed. If there is nothing close, give us a call and we can assist you.

advisor1.jpg
Click here to go to the Bob Reeves Trumpet Mouthpiece Advisor.

14 Responses to “Mouthpiece Comparison Tool”

  1. Hello. Excuse my english because i am a spanish boy that have problems with this languaje. I play trumpet 20 years ago. I play with a schilke mouthpiece.The mouthpiece that i play is the schilke 15B for classical music and the schilke 15A4 for light and comercial music.

    What is the equivalence in your mouthpieces???
    How is the ring? is it Large et confortable??
    thank very much for all.

    • Hello Ramses,

      Thank you for your comment. Your English is quite good, in fact much better than my Spanish! I have sent you an email to your email address with the response to your questions. We do have employees that speak Spanish if you want to email us at info@bobreeves.com.

      All the best,
      Bob

  2. Paul Jackson Says:

    Please advise. I have been playing on an old Bob Reeves mouthpiece given to me some 30 plus years ago. The number markings are a large 2, followed by a small 2. followed by a large 4. I love this mouthpiece and the sound I get playing commercial gigs. However, I would like to get a warmer sound and not lose the range and response for when I play in the community bands and church jobs. I do like how the rim feels. Please recommend.

    thanks

    • Hi Paul, Thanks for the comment. I’ve sent you an email, but in case you didn’t get it I’ll relay the same info here. What you have is a 42/D with a #2 backbore and a #4 shank. You might consider trying a 42/B or even our 42/C2J for a darker sound in your concert band setting. Feel free to call or email us if you have any other questions!

  3. I play a Schilke 13C4A hoping to get it’s equivalent in your mouthpiece….

  4. patrick carney Says:

    Hi,
    I have an older mouthpiece with the following markings. Large 3 followed by a small 4 and finally a large 5. I’m interested in how this compares to a newer model.
    Thanks,
    Pat

    • Hi Pat, You have an early 43/D with a #4 backbore and a #5 shank. We don’t offer the #4 backbore anymore but we can make one as a special order for you if you wanted a duplicate. Assuming there were no alterations done to the rim and cup, this is the same as the 43/D we make today. Feel free to contact us if you have more questions!

  5. John Rickert Says:

    Hello,
    I’m looking for a new flugel mouthpiece that’s similar to my monette B2 tpt. mouthpiece. I play a Yamaha YFH631 flugel. Any suggestions?

  6. Rick Rangno Says:

    I’ve got a real oddball Reeves mouthpiece I bought on the internet that needs deciphering! It’s marked X . . 4

    It’s quite shallow…S or SV according to my index finger🙂

    I have an unmarked Delrin rim that seems to fit it. I think its a 43 or 43.5 The back bore seems wide open to me.

    Can you shed any light on this?

    • Hi Rick,

      Thanks for your comment. Unfortunately, we can’t tell what the mouthpiece is by what’s stamped. We have an X backbore and the 4 may be the shank size. If you want to send it out our way we’re happy to look at it for you!

      • Rick Rangno Says:

        Fantastic! I’ll ship it to you this week. I’m assuming I should send it to:

        25574 W. Rye Canyon Road
        Suite D
        Valencia, CA 91355

        Who should I send it in care of?

        Thanks!

      • No need to put it to anyone’s attention, just include a note with your contact information so we know who’s mouthpiece it is!

Leave a Reply

